Attraction has it’s place; despite it, we can become Friends

Lately I’ve been speaking about the interaction between people and how important it is. I believe relationships are the most important commodity we have when it comes to life. This is an understanding I’ve gained based on my spiritual growth, which was really a direct result of me becoming tired of having the same results in my relationships.

Of course I’m led by my attraction when it comes to women, but like all things attraction has its place. As long as I allowed it to be my guide, it continued to lead me to unfulfilling relationships. Think about everything we lust in life: we have to have it because of the newness. Nothing remains new, so once that wore off I found myself looking for something new again. It’s a vicious cycle that leaves us all victimized.

We grow tired of being victims of this cycle, become determined to have something more in life, but attraction never leaves. We learn to set it aside and focus on the most important thing, and that’s our treatment of others. My quality of life changed when I started taking the time to consider others; from that consideration came true friendships.

To be able to do this, I had to put attraction aside, because this would lead me to a self-serving act. Being selfish is what really brought me my hardships in life in the first place. I refused to have that as my reality any further. Two people who are attracted to each other can be friends, but the only way this can be is if they both want the same thing. Based on the direction the relationship takes, the physical connection could serve as an added bonus.

Best friends, no matter how long their relationship lasts, never lose interest with one another. Their relationships are filled with life not lust. And yes, friendships between same-sex does start with an attraction. Remember, something drew you to that person in the first place. I love you all with all my heart. 

Clayton Reid Jones

Godspeed

About Clayton Reid Jones

Who is Clayton Jones? A father, son, friend, a child of God who believes in universal love. He believes truth is the medicine that we should apply to the wounds; that truth is derived from love ...and love is the only way we can heal.
This entry was posted in controversial, encouraging, Inspiring, provocative, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Attraction has it’s place; despite it, we can become Friends

  1. Apryl Mosby says:

    I really enjoyed this comment and I do agree with some of your main points as usual ;o) The one thing I have found with me is words I love words and I tend to get caught up in them…that is why I have a few male friends that are very special to me…it wasn’t their physical appearance that caught my attention…it was the words that came out of their mouth…sometimes I get caught on words and the other person thinks the physical and mistakes my interest for more than just kindness…a beautiful mind is truly the most attractive thing to me…I have friendships with these men that time and distance has not been able to destroy…when I see them we greet it other with a warm hug and kiss on the cheek…our friendship is geniune so their wives/girlfriends never feel that our friendship is out of place…these are the friendships that when life gets tough and tougher they will be there with words to upbuild and encourage…should I ever fall in love I would want it to start out just as these relationships have because there is respect, trust, kindness and geniune love…the physical is important if you are trying to win a beauty contest…however only true beauty can be felt and not seen…that is the beauty you can bask in for a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

