Am I to busy Loving myself to Love another?

Everybody wants to be loved, and this is where it starts. Love is a gift to be given. Giving is sharing, but the thought of me and all I deserve often stands in the way of my ability to love.

We can’t seem to get beyond ourselves enough to look past disappointments, hurt, anger, jealousy, vanity, lust, depression, ambition, agenda, incentives, inclinations, predetermination, and our egos. Selfishness is the impetus for these energies which suffocate the spirit of love. Even when we find ourselves doing things for others, the minute we become an advocate for our own unselfishness, it indicates selfishness.

I often hear people suggest that you must first love yourself in order to love someone else; I believe the contrary. If love is a gift that we all have been given and it’s meant to be shared, the only way love gets realized, is when the sacrifice to love someone else gets demonstrated. To love others in essence is to love you; you are me and I am you.

Anything selfish can’t be true love.

Godspeed

 
About Clayton Reid Jones

Who is Clayton Jones? A father, son, friend, a child of God who believes in universal love. He believes truth is the medicine that we should apply to the wounds; that truth is derived from love ...and love is the only way we can heal.
This entry was posted in controversial, encouraging, Inspiring, provocative, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I to busy Loving myself to Love another?

  1. I honestly love this blog. Keep sharing, Clayton

Leave a Reply

