17 years ago on this day

I remember getting the news that your mom was pregnant. I was so excited! You were all that I thought about. I had so many dreams about what you would look like, that I knew your face down to the most intricate detail. I also remember wanting you to be a baby girl, and all my dreams supported this. Well, based on the sonograms, we were convinced that you were a boy. From there we began preparing ourselves.

We had names picked out, clothes were bought and a baby shower was given in honor of what was sure to be our little boy, but I couldn’t let go of the dreams. For some reason I continued to feel like I was having a baby girl, but why?

As the days grew nearer, the anticipation of your arrival would have us on edge. I would go to work each day, only to spend my time there becoming unnerved with each passing hour. I feared that she would be rushed to the hospital, not leaving me with enough time to make it there to greet you when you entered this world.

Then one night I received a phone call at work from my boss. Everyone knew that I was expecting a child, so with hysteria in his voice my boss said to me, “I’m sending someone in to relieve you. It’s time; she’s having the baby. I want you to make it there on time, so go!” I took off running and the only thought I had, was that I have to make it there to transport her to the hospital. I wanted to be there every step of the way.

Fortunately, I made it there with plenty of time. She was also nervous so this made her put more urgency to the call than what was needed. After spending countless hours at the hospital, your time had finally come. Upon your time coming, it was also time for me as well. Something that I would never forget for the rest of my life happened to me, and because of the place that I’m in today, I’m able to understand what I was witnessing that early morning 17 years ago on this day.

With everyone focused on you making it successfully through the transition, and all thoughts being fixated on you being a boy, (and rightfully so) the most miraculous thing took place. When you entered the world and was successfully delivered to us, we found out that you were a beautiful baby girl. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.

Not only were you a little girl, but you were the little girl from my dreams. You looked exactly the way I saw you each night when I closed my eyes to the world, not one detail was missing. Back then I didn’t have the understanding of God, but as I reflect on that day, I realize now that God was trying to give us a sign, a sign assuring us, that we all are able to live our dreams.

Today is your birthday, a special day in so many ways. I wanted to take the time to write this to you and share, because with child-birth, we’re all able to witness one of God’s miracles. With your story, God has encrypted a special message for those who have an ear to hear.

Jazmin Monae Jones, your identity alone is a miracle, and it’s also my sign that you and I are living in a dream. I believe He has a plan for both our lives, so live yours to the fullest knowing that nothing in this world can alter that plan. Don’t let anyone suggest that your dreams won’t come true, mine did; they did when your mom gave birth to you.

I love you with all my heart.

Happy birthday from your Dad,

Clayton Reid Jones

Godspeed

About Clayton Reid Jones

Who is Clayton Jones? A father, son, friend, a child of God who believes in universal love. He believes truth is the medicine that we should apply to the wounds; that truth is derived from love ...and love is the only way we can heal.
This entry was posted in controversial, encouraging, Inspiring, provocative, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

